Archive | August, 2008

Sunscreen in Denver

On a more serious note: I just caught the end of al-Gore’s speech, after which the convention organisers started playing the 60s anthem “Let the Sun Shine In.” There’s a certain obscenity in playing that song while in the streets outside the flag-bestooned arena, the true heirs of the 60s are being herded and arrested.

So Then We’ll Conquer Old Eli’s Men

While I’m not a supporter of Obama, his nomination is a gratifying event. After the past 20 years of being governed by Yalies, it’s about time we had a Harvard man in the White House.

Ruwart Update

I’m back from Indianapolis – about which more later. In the meantime, I note that Mary Ruwart has an interesting article on how the LP is turning its back on libertarianism’s “natural constituency … the impoverished, the downtrodden, and the young.”

Speaking of Ruwart, I’m surprised that, despite widespread dissatisfaction with Barr, I haven’t seen any online discussion of a Ruwart write-in campaign. (If I vote at all this year, it’ll be a write-in – most likely of Ruwart.) Also, this (admittedly not much publicised) petition for Ruwart to run again in 2012 has only 13 signatures so far.

Agorist Demerit Count: 5.5

How Many Philosophers Can We Cram Onto a Panel?

[cross-posted at Liberty & Power]

The Molinari Society will be holding its fifth annual Symposium in conjunction with the Eastern Division of the American Philosophical Association in Philadelphia, December 27-30, 2008. Here’s the latest schedule info:

GIX-3. Monday, 29 December 2008, 1:30-4:30 p.m.
Molinari Society symposium: Authors Meet Critics:
Crispin Sartwell’s Against the State: An Introduction to Anarchist Political Theory and
Roderick T. Long and Tibor R. Machan, eds., Anarchism/Minarchism: Is a Government Part of a Free Country?

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, 1201 Market Street, Room TBA

Against the State & Anarchism/Minarchism

Chair: Carrie-Ann Biondi (Marymount Manhattan College)

Nicole Hassoun (Carnegie Mellon University)
Jennifer McKitrick (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Christopher Morris (University of Maryland)

John Hasnas (Georgetown University)
Lester H. Hunt (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Charles Johnson (Molinari Institute)
Roderick T. Long (Auburn University)
Jan Narveson (University of Waterloo-Canada)
Crispin Sartwell (Dickinson College)
William Thomas (Atlas Society)

As part of the APA’s new policy to prevent free riders, they’re not telling us the name of the room until we get to the registration desk. As part of our policy of combating evil we will of course broadcast the name of the room far and wide as soon as we learn it.

Happily, we have once again avoided any schedule conflicts with either the American Association for the Philosophic Study of Society (Dec. 28th, 11:15 -1:15) or the Ayn Rand Society (Dec. 28th, 2:00-5:00).

In other news, the schedule for next month’s Alabama Philosophical Society meeting in Orange Beach is now online.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes